Southold News

We’re Still Dancing! Student classes live-streaming on ZOOM!


Southold has extended the suspension of in-studio classes and activities through the remainder of the spring semester May 16.


Our faculty will continue to bring live-stream classes for creative/primary-ballet — level VIII to help dancers keep up their technique and conditioning. Classes are free to any student who was enrolled at Southold at the time of the March 13 closure.


For more information, contact

Free Community Ballet Class Streaming on Facebook and Instagram


In an effort to keep the community safe and happy as well as to continuing promoting the arts, Southold is streaming FREE Instagram and Facebook LIVE series. Join our Beginner/Intermediate Ballet Barre and Stretch class Saturdays from noon–1p.m., taught by faculty member Fiona Cameron-Martin. You don’t need to be a dancer or have previous training. All you need is some space to move around and something to hold onto for support!

This class will help you be active, and leave you feeling lengthened and strong!

April 2, 2020

Youth American Grand Prix 2020 


Eleven Southold dancers participated in the 2020 Regional Youth America Grand Prix competition in Indianapolis, March 5-8.  YAGP is a prestigious International Ballet competition  with 25 regional locations and eight international locations that include 12,000 dancers annually. Eight of Southold’s dancers competed in a total of 11 solo variations in classical and contemporary dance. Southold Dance Theater is proud to announce that Frederick Stuckwisch took 1st Place in the Men’s Senior Classical Division and Ben Zusi placed 2nd.  Both of these young men were invited to compete in the International Finals in NYC (which has subsequently been canceled.) Southold’s ensemble of eight dancers placed in the Top 6 in the Ensemble Division.  On the basis of their YAGP performance, these ensemble dancers were all offered positions, with no auditions necessary, in a Summer Intensive Program in Tampa, Florida. Southold takes great pride in our dancers’ accomplishments and in their deportment at the competition as they supported and valued each other and their competitors. 


Congratulations to our YAGP Participants

Ainsley Hennel, Jillian Henning, Kendra Mohnke, Regina Murphy, Sophie O’Brien, Olivia Ritschard, Mia Sheppard, Frederick Stuckwisch, Teagan Wright, Ben Zusi, and Julia Zusi.

Southold Remembers Scott Osthimer

The Southold family mourns the loss of Scott Osthimer on June 3, 2019.  Scott was a dedicated Southold Dance Theater performer, supporter and board member for many years.  His last performance with Southold was the role of Von Rothbart in Swan Lake.  He is remembered as a kind soul who enjoyed working with the Southold dancers and they with him.

Our condolences go to Scott’s family.  May you find comfort knowing that he was loved and respected by the Southold family. 


(574) 233-9841

914 Lincoln Way West

South Bend, IN 46616

  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon








10:00AM - 6:00PM

10:00AM - 6:00PM

10:00AM - 6:00PM

10:00AM - 6:00PM


9:30AM - 12:30PM